Pelvic Organ Prolapse

Pelvic Organ Prolapse. The pelvic organs include the vagina, cervix, uterus, bladder, urethra, and the small intestines and rectum. The pelvic organs are held in place by muscles of the pelvic floor. Layers of connective tissue called fascia also provide support.

Pelvic organ prolapse occurs when the fascia and muscles can no longer support the pelvic organs. These supporting muscles and fascia may become torn or stretched, or they may weaken because of aging. As a result, the organs that they support can drop downward. Sometimes, a bulge can be felt inside the vagina. In severe cases, organs may protrude from the vaginal opening.

Types of Prolapse

  • Uterine Prolapse – uterus
  • Vaginal Vault – top of the vagina
  • Cystocele – bladder
  • Urethrocele – urethra
  • Enterocele – small intestine
  • Rectocele – rectum
Leave a reply